Prayer Fixer-Upper

3985490626_4ece1bf58a

This beautiful photo is from Lel4nd’s photostream at Flickr.com

Have you ever known someone who bought a run-down old house, and then painstakingly remodeled it into a showpiece? Have you ever seen a quarterback take a hopelessly losing team and create a come-from-behind win? Do you have a friend who’s always taking in stray or sick animals and nursing them back to health?

If we can do these kinds of things with human hands, what do you suppose God can do with our most lackluster, inattentive, half-baked prayers? Even the ones we say over and over again that we think have lost their meaning for us? I imagine He uses them in His own way. He fashions them into something far more beautiful than the most soaring cathedral, the most powerful words of poetry, or the most impossible touchdown pass. He makes our most unremarkable and ordinary prayers beautiful and eternal, simply because he loves us, simply because He is God.

For the past few days I’ve been saying the Chaplet of the Divine Mercy for a friend’s husband who is dying. It’s put my small problems in perspective. And the words of this prayer help me realize that every time I say it, I’m praying, not just for me or one other person, but for “the whole world,” too. 

I am one person, and my faith hits snags every single day. I don’t love nearly as much as I could. I don’t pray with the fervor of the saints.  On this side of eternity, my prayer might be rushed, distracted and rote. But on the other side, in the mind of God, my little prayer takes on a greatness I can’t even imagine.  It’s the same for  yours. And for anyone who seeks Him.

We will never be the same.

By the way, here’s where you can earn more about The Chaplet of the Divine Mercy.

One thought on “Prayer Fixer-Upper

  1. Beautifully said Connie. I’ve always said, when I can do nothing else, i can pray, and this puts it so wonderfully. We don’t always realize the power of our own prayers. Blessings dear.

Leave a Reply

