I blog, therefore I talk…way too much

If people seem jumpier these days, it’s probably because every time we take a cruise on the information superhighway, some alarming new statistic comes careening at us.  For example, I just learned yesterday that there are 40,000 species of spiders in the world, but about the same number are still waiting to be discovered.  With statistics like that, who can sleep at night?

Here’s another.  There are something like 450 million “active” blogs on the Internet. Of those, more than 2,000 are Catholic blogs.

People have been asking why I haven’t been posting and those stats pretty much sum it up for me. Sure, blogs can inspire. They can offer instruction and information. But does the world really need one more bloggedy-blog-blog post from me? Couldn’t we all use a little less rambling, a few less links, and a whole lot less comments?

I like the way the great Catholic author Matthew Kelly puts it in his astounding bestseller Rediscover Catholicism:

I am certain that the Church needs less and less of your ideas and mine, and more and more guidance from the Holy Spirit.

Yep. You go, Matthew Kelly. But does this mean I’m giving up blogging? Not really, I like it here. But as usual, I’m trying to figure out what I’m doing. Maybe my purpose is to point you (and me) to better sources that the Internet noise may have drowned out.

For instance, I’ve finally finished St. Faustina’s diary, Divine Mercy in My Soul. I admit it’s not a book to breeze through, but Faustina offers powerful perspectives and example for today’s Catholics, especially when she writes about being misunderstood by others. Instead of telling her side of the story, she prayerfully puts her defense in God’s hands, saying with a simplicity that belies a far deeper meaning, “It cost me greatly.” Instead of adding her comments to the overall noise, Faustina stops, and listens to what God has to say to her. Her listening gave her the strength to make 1,828 entries in six humble notebooks, following the will of God.

Those are statistics I need these days more than ever.

(I know the Feast of the Divine Mercy is months away but in celebration of Blessed John Paul II’s feast day on October 22, I thought I’d share a few resources about Faustina)

Praying with Faustina by Eileen Dunn Bertanzetti, Word Among Us Press. Excellent book to help you reflect more deeply on Faustina’s writing.

Divine Mercy activities for kids From the Marians of the Immaculate Conception website, here are several activities for various age groups you can download.

Divine Mercy in My Soul the Diary of St. Maria Faustina Kowalska, available from the Catholic Company.

 

 

8 thoughts on “I blog, therefore I talk…way too much

  1. Hi Connie,

    I love your blog. I just started reading St. Louis de Montfort’s True Devotion to Mary. What a gift to slow down, be quiet, and open ourselves to the Holy Spirit. Love and miss you!

    • Hi Beth,
      Thank you for commenting! Montfort is on my reading list this year. I’d say we should get together and talk about it, but I think he would just want us to PRAY instead! (But seriously, we should get together soon!) Thanks for stopping by!
      Connie

  2. Think about how much information we have to store in our brains these days that our ancestors didn’t. Even our history books are bigger! I read somewhere that we read and hear more in one day than some people heard in a lifetime in the 1800s. It’s a small wonder that we can retain anything (or that we’re not all like butterflies flitting from topic to topic all day long).

    I have a theory that we retain what matters and the rest falls out. Which is OK, as long as we keep the bits that are important to the people around us, too. 🙂

    • Thanks, Paula! Although sometimes I wonder if I even retain the things that matter–I “liked” something that someone posted on FB the other day and when I saw that person “live,” I couldn’t remember what it was that I liked! Sheesh.

  3. Thanks Connie! I have missed reading your sweet, funny and very real thoughts and comments about life… thanks for the smile and helping me feel happy to be alive and to know you!

    Cindy

  4. Connie, I agree, I love reading what you have to say, it is always so pertinent to what is going on in the world today. My husband is constantly complaining that he just can’t remember anything any more. I told him that I’d read an article (yes, on-line) that said as we get older, our minds start dropping things from our memories in order to make room for the new. It seems strange that should happen, when you consider how very little of our brain we actually use. Now, if we could just find a way to access that unused part, we would be “cooking with gas” as my grandma used to say! Thanks for sharing Connie, there IS a lot out there, but some is more important and pertinent than others, and your blog is one of them! God Bless!

    • Thanks for the kind words, Mary. You’re right. I “liked” someone’s FB the other day, then when I saw her in person, I couldn’t for the life of me remember what she’d done that I had “liked.” Circuits overloaded!

Leave a Reply

