Rendering an Advent Wreath unto Caesar…

So I opened the Advent wreath box yesterday and all that was inside were a few pieces of crumpled newspaper and two burned out candles. Then I remembered that we’d used the Advent greens as a laurel wreath in my son’s Roman history play last spring. I know I shouldn’t have, but it was a last minute desperation move the night before the play. (There’s some sad irony in there somewhere about the wreath we use to welcome our Savior being used to decorate a Caesar.) But to be honest, my twined together plastic ivy from the craft store never made a very handsome Advent wreath to begin with. And it was probably much better suited for a “king” of this world than the king of heaven and earth. So I’ve decided this is the year I’ll make a new Advent wreath, one that’s worthy of the season. Maybe I’ll gather some fresh greens. Maybe I’ll go back to the craft store. I’d like to have it ready tonight, but if not, we’ll still light a candle and say a prayer together as a family. I’m looking forward to this. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

